Pamela Gay Award

Our award for volunteerism is named for a  dear friend of the library, Pamela Gay.  For over a decade, Pam spent Fridays at the library performing a variety of tasks.  She was an active member of the Friends of the Library, editing two cookbooks, chairing two festivals, organizing many trips to the Boston Pops and delivering her delicious food to library programs, receptions and dinners. In her honor, the Trustees created a recognition program for library volunteers.  Each December at a volunteer tea, the trustees award the  annual Pamela Gay Award for Volunteerism.

The 2019 Volunteer of the Year is Jerry Hagebusch. Jerry is the first person we call if we have to have, something fixed, painted, pruned, raked or moved. For six years he served as a trustee of the library with the unofficial title, “trustee with a truck.” Jerry also donates his time to the LAC and the Newport Historical Society. In addition, whenever Pris Hagebusch bakes cookies or pies for community events, Jerry is doing the dishes.


2000 Virginia Parker & Pauline Horan

2001  Dorothy Collins

2002  Mary Lou Howard

2003  Barbara Holden Yeomans

2004  Maura Stetson

2005  Mary Lou McGuire

2006  Nelson Aldrich

2007  Barbara Kvetcovsky

2008  Martha E. Lovely

2009  Jacklyn E. Goddette

2010  June C. Pera

2011  Nancy B. Parssinen

2012  Ina M. Rozokat

2013  Priscilla H. Hagebusch

2014  Elaine Frank

2015 Paula Johnson

2016 Janice Brehio

2017 Sandra Sonnichsen

2018 Barbara Kresse

2019 Jerry Hagebusch